Skip to main content

Don't delay: Deadline for EIEA nominations is June 1

By May 19, 2011No Comments

Time is running out to submit nominations for the region’s top business leaders and entrepreneurs in the 2011 Excellence in Entrepreneurship Awards (EIEA) program.

June 1 is the deadline for accepting nominations for the 10th anniversary celebration of this year’s EIEA program, which honors those who have launched and are managing a successful business enterprise in Southern and Eastern Kentucky.

The top three finalists in each of the four EIEA business categories will be recognized—and the award winners announced—on Sept. 12 at the 2011 EIEA awards luncheon hosted at The Center for Rural Development in Somerset.

Nominations will be accepted in the following EIEA categories:

  • Business (in existence five or more years with greater than 25 employees)
  • Small Business (in existence five or more years with 25 or less employees)
  • Start-Up (in existence less than five years)
  • Not-for-Profit Entity (in existence at least six months)


Nominees are judged on the economic success of the enterprise, contributions to the community, job creation, and operational achievement as measured by innovative business practices, superior safety achievement, and superior technology.

The EIEA program, sponsored by Eastern Kentucky University’s (EKU) College of Business and Technology, Kentucky Highlands Investment Corporation, and The Center for Rural Development, is celebrating a decade of distinction honoring business leaders and entrepreneurs who exemplify America’s spirit of entrepreneurship.

For more information on the EIEA program or to download a copy of the EIEA nomination form, visit and click on the Excellence in Entrepreneurship link. Interested persons may also contact The Center for Rural Development at 606-677-6000 or EKU’s College of Business and Technology at 859-622-2334 or via email


Nominations may be submitted by any individual or business within the EIEA’s 55-county service area on or before June 1. Those counties include: Adair, Bath, Bell, Boyd, Boyle, Breathitt, Carter, Casey, Clark, Clay, Clinton, Cumberland, Edmonson, Elliott, Estill, Fleming, Floyd, Garrard, Green, Greenup, Harlan, Hart, Jackson, Jessamine, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Laurel, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Lewis, Lincoln, McCreary, Madison, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee, Metcalf, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Pike, Powell, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Rowan, Russell, Taylor, Wayne, Whitley, or Wolfe.