Skip to main content

A new group of rising high school juniors from across Southern and Eastern Kentucky has been selected by The Center for Rural Development to participate in this summer’s 2012 Rogers Scholars youth leadership program and will eligible to receive exclusive college scholarship opportunities from 16 colleges and universities.

Rogers Scholars—The Center’s flagship youth program—is an intensive one-week summer session that brings together some of the best and brightest students from within The Center’s 42-county primary service area to develop critical leadership skills as the region’s next generation of leaders and entrepreneurs.

“The Center believes in giving young people in our region a chance to receive leadership and scholarship opportunities so they can seize their potential and become effective, skilled leaders,” Lonnie Lawson, president and CEO of The Center, said. “It is our goal that many of these students will return to Southern and Eastern Kentucky to build their careers and transform this region for years to come.”

Now in its 15th year, Rogers Scholars was built on a mission started by U.S. Congressman Harold “Hal” Rogers (KY-05) that “no young person should have to leave home to find his or her future.”

“The program emphasizes the development of technological skills and builds in participants a sense of leadership, an entrepreneurial spirit, and a commitment to rural Kentucky. We  are looking forward to meeting the 2012 Class of Rogers Scholars and working with each participant to develop his or her leadership skills.”
Delaney Stephens, youth programs coordinator and community liaison

The first group of Scholars will be at The Center June 24-29 for the opening week session. The final summer session is planned for July 8-13.

During the program, Scholars will meet and hear presentations from some of the region’s top business leaders and entrepreneurs; complete a community service project; and receive professional, hands-on instruction from leading experts in one of three top in-demand careers: healthcare, engineering, and video production.

Most of the activities take place on the grounds of The Center in Somerset and other sites in the Lake Cumberland region.

The Center is proud to announce the following high school students in Southern and Eastern Kentucky have been named 2012 Rogers Scholars:

  • Elizabeth McGaha—Adair County
  • Patrick Toy—Bath County
  • Kelly Brown and Jacob Schneider—Bell County
  • Courtney Hamblin—Breathitt County
  • Allison Clark—Casey County
  • Teddy Woods—Clay County
  • Jacob Williams and Lamon Hubbs—Clinton County
  • Monica Poindexter—Cumberland County
  • Michael Witt and Kayla Wolpert—Estill County
  • Joslyn Isaac—Floyd County
  • Anna Leigh Morrow—Garrard County
  • Kelsay Scott, Brianna Scott, and Madeira Curry—Green County
  • Haley Cook—Harlan County
  • Sarah Gabbard—Jackson County
  • Luke Landis—Jessamine County
  • Katherine Wells and Matt Barber—Johnson County
  • Channing Everidge—Knott County
  • Alexander Phipps and Jessica Pope—Knox County
  • Scotty Reams—Laurel County
  • Brock Finley—Lawrence County
  • Ja Cinda Warner—Lee County
  • Savannah Sizemore—Leslie County
  • Cody Baker—Letcher County
  • Morgan Cooper—Lincoln County
  • Kourtney Salyer—Magoffin County
  • Cassady James and Elizabeth Ward—Martin County
  • Brooklyne Chitwood—McCreary County
  • Jacob Valerio—Menifee County
  • Mandi Rigsby—Metcalfe County
  • Mary Madison Lyons—Monroe County
  • Chase Turner—Morgan County
  • Olivia Bryant—Owsley County
  • Mariah Tiller—Perry County
  • Courtney Wright—Pike County
  • Katherine Stockham, Katherine Citak, Caroline Parker, Rebecca Dunmore, Madison Hatfield, Brittany Pittman, Bethany Cox, Lexie Parks, Ashley Johnson, Shelby Harville, Cameron Cheuvront, and Blake Morris—Pulaski County
  • Rebekah Ponder and Madisan Miller—Rockcastle County
  • Yulia Perevozchikova—Rowan County
  • McKinzie Henson and Madisan Allen—Russell County
  • Caleb Wigginton and Taylor Agathen—Taylor County
  • Cheyenne Chaney and Daniel Bertram—Wayne County
  • Kori Sears and Cai Jackson—Whitley County
  • Colby Creech—Wolfe County

Since 1998, approximately 806 high school students have graduated from Rogers Scholars. College scholarships valued at more than $7.5 million are available to program graduates.