Skip to main content
Register online for the 2015 EIEA regional awards luncheon

Register online for the 2015 EIEA regional awards luncheon

Support region’s top small business owners and entrepreneurs

Twelve small business owners and entrepreneurs from nine Kentucky counties will be recognized at the 2015 Excellence in Entrepreneurship Awards (EIEA) program.

The finalists will share their success stories on what it is like to be small business owners and entrepreneurs in Southern and Eastern Kentucky at a regional awards recognition luncheon on Monday, Sept. 14, at 11:30 a.m. at The Center for Rural Development.

The luncheon will culminate with the announcement of the award winners in four EIEA categories: Young Entrepreneur, Not-For-Profit Entity, Start-Up Business, and For-Profit Business.

Brett Traver, chairman of the EIEA committee and executive director of Southeast Kentucky Economic Development (SKED) Corporation, will deliver the opening remarks. Dr. Tom Erekson, dean of Business and Technology at Eastern Kentucky University, will be the program emcee.

To make reservations for the EIEA luncheon, call 606-677-6000 or click here to register online. The cost is $20 per person. Deadline to make reservations is Sept. 4.

The EIEA program is sponsored by Eastern Kentucky University (EKU) College of Business and Technology, Kentucky Highlands Investment Corporation, Southeast Kentucky Economic Development Corporation (SKED), and The Center for Rural Development.

2015 EIEA finalists

Young Entrepreneur

  • Abby Scott, team leader, Lake Cumberland Kids, Somerset, Ky.
  • Aaron Roberts, owner, Yard Farmers, LLC, Somerset, Ky.
  • Kelsey Sebastian, owner, Kelsey’s on Main, Jackson, Ky.

Start-Up Business

  • Kim Gardner, owner, Class 101: College Finance and Planning Eastern Kentucky, Berea, Ky.
  • Lidia Godbey, owner/fitness instructor, Turn it Up Dance & Fitness Studio, Somerset, Ky.
  • Blaine Staat, co-owner, Staat’s Bakery, Liberty, Ky.

For-Profit Business

  • Theresa Chambers, owner, Starwood Mountain, Inc., Manchester, Ky.
  • Debbie Dutton, owner, Life is Sweet Café, Somerset, Ky.
  • Garry Conley, owner/president, Minuteman Press of London, London, Ky.

Not-for-Profit Entity

  • Joe Crawford, executive director, Estill County 21st Century, Irvine, Ky.
  • Eric Loy, chief executive officer/medical director, Cumberland Family Medical Center Inc., Burkesville, Ky.
  • David Snow, director, Kentucky Innovation Network, Pikeville, Ky.

The EIEA program—honoring excellence in entrepreneurship since 2001—recognizes and promotes small business owners and entrepreneurs who exemplify the spirit of entrepreneurship by creating and managing successful business ventures in Southern and Eastern Kentucky.