Skip to main content


Thirty-two high school students graduate from first week of the 2016 Rogers Scholars program

“Rogers Scholars has truly been a life-changing experience. My time at Rogers Scholars has opened my eyes and taught me how to be a leader and have a heart for community service.” – 2016 Rogers Scholars graduate Allison “Alli” Wade of Jackson County

Thirty-two high school students from 25 Kentucky counties graduated from the first class of The Center for Rural Development’s 2016 Rogers Scholars program.

The students—all incoming high school juniors—completed the one-week summer leadership program on July 1 and were presented certificates during a graduation program at The Center in Somerset.

Lonnie Lawson, president and CEO of The Center, and Delaney Stephens, youth programs coordinator and community liaison, congratulated each of the graduates and announced the recipient of the Doug Reece Memorial Award.

2016 Rogers Scholars graduate Katherine “Katie” Braswell of Perry County had the highest scoring application from among the applicants in the first graduating class of 2016 Rogers Scholars. She will receive a $250 scholarship to any in-state college or university.

“The Rogers Scholars program has really broadened my horizons in terms of my full potential,” said Braswell, 16, a student at Letcher County Central High School. “I have been equipped with skills that will prepare me, not only for my education and career, but my life as well.”

As the recipient of the Doug Reece Memorial Award, Braswell received a handcrafted mountain dulcimer complements of Dr. Joseph L. Fink III, professor of pharmacy law and policy at the University of Kentucky (UK) College of Pharmacy, and Dr. Bruce Ayers, former president and CEO of Southeast Kentucky Community and Technical College.

Click here to continue reading the full story on