Skip to main content

The Center for Rural Development is now accepting applications for the 2019 Rogers Scholars program.

Rogers Scholars, an intensive one-week summer program, provides valuable leadership skills and exclusive college scholarship opportunities for rising high school juniors in Southern and Eastern Kentucky to seize their potential as the region’s next generation of leaders.

“I am very blessed and thankful for the Rogers Scholars opportunity. I was challenged to push myself outside my comfort zone during the ropes course.”  – 2018 Rogers Scholars graduate Jenna McGaha of Adair County

To be eligible for the Rogers Scholars program, you must:

  • Be a current sophomore at a high school located within The Center for Rural Development’s 45-county primary service area. The 45-county service area consists of the following Kentucky counties: Adair, Bath, Bell, Boyd, Breathitt, Carter, Casey, Clay, Clinton, Cumberland, Elliott, Estill, Floyd, Garrard, Green, Harlan, Jackson, Jessamine, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Laurel, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Lincoln, Magoffin, Martin, McCreary, Menifee, Metcalfe, Monroe, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Pike, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Rowan, Russell, Taylor, Wayne, Whitley and Wolfe.
  • Have a strong interest in developing skills in leadership, technology, entrepreneurship, and community service
  • Have a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.0 (on a 4 point scale)

Visit to apply for the 2019 Rogers Scholars program.

The deadline for applications is 8 a.m. on Feb. 1, 2019.