The Center for Rural Development

We change people's lives.

Home » Impact Map » Pike County Community Impact
July 7, 2022

Pike County Community Impact

Public Safety

33 Mobile Data Computers installed
Total Dollars invested- $838,999

Arts & Culture

2006-07 Arts Education Programs
Elkhorn Elementary – Chautauqua Presentation (Lilly Mae Ledford)
630 students in attendance

Dorton Elementary – Lexington Children’s Theatre (Rikki Tikki Tavi)
344 students in attendance

2007 Kentucky Appalachian Craft Fair Exhibitor
Janice Robinette – Wylld Fibers
Patti Rogers – David Appalachian Crafts

2007-08 Arts Education Programs
Mullins and Blackberry elementary schools – Lexington Children’s Theatre (“Pecos Bill and Sluefoot Sue”), presented to 420 students

2009 Arts Education Programs
Robinson Creek Elementary School – Lexington Children’s Theatre (“Keeping Mr. Lincoln”), 141 students in attendance
Elkhorn City Elementary School – Lexington Children’s Theatre (“Keeping Mr. Lincoln”), 277 students in attendance
Dorton Elementary School – Lexington Children’s Theatre (“Keeping Mr. Lincoln”), 298 students in attendance
Bevins Elementary School – Lexington Children’s Theatre (“Keeping Mr. Lincoln”), 208 students in attendance


2013 Forward in the Fifth Appalachian Leaders in Education (AppLE) award winner
Educator (Early Childhood) – Rhonda Crigger, assistant principal, Southside Elementary School

2014 Forward in the Fifth Appalachian Leaders in Education (AppLE) award winners
Educator (Higher Education) – Dr. James Hurley, president, University of Pikeville
Student Group – Pike County Youth Leadership Council

18 grants totaling $162,142.92 were awarded to the following companies:

Rogers Petroleum
South East Telephone
Eastern Telephon
Interstate Natural Gas Company
Equitable Production
Premier Elkhorn Coal Company
Clintonwood Elkhorn Mining Company
Eastern Telephon
Consolidated Health Systems, Inc
Marshall Resources, Inc

Excellence in Entrepreneurship Awards (EIEA) program

2004 Award Recipients
Jerome Kanney and Dennis Rohrer – Interstate Natural Gas, Pikeville, KY

2009 Award Recipient
For-Profit Small Business
Charlie Pinson, president-owner
Charlie Pinson Insurance, Pikeville, KY

2010 Award Recipients
For-Profit Business
Shannon Wright and Kendall Wright, owners
Wright Concrete and Construction, Inc., Dorton, KY

Youth Program Participants

Rogers Scholars
1998 – Batrina Potter, Joshua Potter
1999 – Michael Johnson, Jr.
2000 – William Freeman
2001 – Samantha Childer, Rachel Hall
2002 – Tony Compton, Bobbi Anne Vowels
2003 – Rhianna Potter
2004 – Meghan Bosti, Stephanie Burk, Megan Chaney
2005 – Zachariah Blackburn
2006 – B.K. Farley, Ethan Plymale
2007 – Adam Handy
2008 – Tyler Fields, Jacob Dotson
2009 – Sarah Mullins, Lynlee Jackson
2010 – Taryn Cantrell
2011 – Sara Biery
2012 – Courtney Wright
2013 – Noor Ali
2014 – Amanda Mae Arts
2015 – Nathaniel Bevins, McKenzie Bentley
2016 – Alexis Stanley, Allie Hagy
2017 – Emily Crum, Brock Runyon, Olivia Whitfield
2018 – Wade Copley, Lakin Puckett
2019 – Sarah Belcher
2020 – Tiffany Copley, Drew Hurley, Anaya Ali

Rogers Explorers
2009 – Lincoln Johnson
2010 – Aaron Asbury, Benjamin Slusher
2011 – Abigail Smallwood, Steven Prater
2013 – Aaron Crum, Joshua Griffith
2014 – Ewa Sulicz, Eric “Clay” Johnson, Alexis Stanley, Austin Dillon
2015 – Emily Crum, Cami Gaunt, Brock Runyon
2016 – Jessilyn Ramey, Jaley Adkins, Harrison Booher, Wade Copely
2017 – Madison Stewart, Ryan Justice, Benjamin McNamee, Ryan Varney
2018 – Tiffany Copley, Kelcie Adams, Anaya Ali, Drew Hurley, Rubyann Mullins, Noah Thacker, Leah Wells
2019 – Tia Wesley, Katie Absher, Devin Derossett, Natalie Fite, Jericha Ratliff, Braxton Hatfield
2020 – Jonah Adkins, Kylie Blankenship, Cadence Ferguson, Brendan Hackney, Aneesh Sharma, Elaina Tackett

Entrepreneurial Leadership Institute
2008 – Adam Stewart, Emily Coleman
2016 – Jayden Wesley
2017 – Kara Stevens
2018 – Jayley Adkins
2020 – Allison Atkins


CenterNET2 (Location / Contact:)
University of Pikeville / Margaret Sturgill (606)218-5302
[email protected]
Big Sandy Community and Technical College/Cory Howard (606)218-2060
[email protected]

County Information

Cabinet for Economic Development Data Center – Pike County
Kenucky’s 2010 Census Demographic Profiles (released May 5, 2011)


Additional Headlines

Find us on Facebook