Skip to main content

Wayne County Community Impact

Arts & Culture

2006-07 Arts Education Programs
Turner Elementary School – Lexington Children’s Theatre (Rikki Tikki Tavi) two performances, 740 students total in attendance.

2007 Kentucky Appalachian Craft Fair Exhibitors
Debbie Tobbe (Sheltowee Artisan)
Bill Brumm (Sheltowee Artisan)
Jamie Brumm (Sheltowee Artisan)

2007-08 Arts Education Programs
Turner Elementary School – “Zig,” 386 students in attendance

2009 Arts Education Programs
Turner Elementary School – Kentucky Chautauqua Presentation (Todd Helm), 210 students in attendance

Kentucky Appalachian Craft Council Member:
Jamison Brumm (Sheltowee Artisan)

Public Safety

33 Mobile Data Computers installed
Total Dollars invested- $508,319


2010 Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC) mini-grant
Wayne County Fiscal Court – $10,000 (to develop a strategic plan for Wayne County and to hire a consultant to help with plan development and advise on implementation of parts of that strategic plan)

2011 Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC) mini-grant
Wayne County Fiscal Court – $10,000 (to perform a study that details the impact and importance of Lake Cumberland)

2011 Forward in the Fifth Local Education Affiliate Program (LEAP)
$1,500 “Monticello-Wayne County Leadership Program Students from both school districts will be selected to participate in a career-readiness and service-learning program. Once a month, teen leaders will visit a local business or organization where they will job shadow, observe, and network with business professionals. They also will work together to complete a service-learning project.

3 grants totaling $44,988 were awarded to the following companies:

Fantasy Custom Yachts
Monticello Banking Co
Belden Wire and Cable

Rogers Scholars

1998 – Brian Catron, Matthew Turner
1999 – Andrew Abbott, Mandy Webb
2000 – Dennis Guinn, Byron Sims
2001 – Amy Abbott
2002 – Natalie Denney
2003 – Jessica Chaney
2004 – Kala Means, David Hughes
2005 – Tyler Choate, Ryan Turner, Marc Webb
2006 – Allie Parker
2007 – Beth Pyles
2008 – Jarrod Ingles, Emily Eicher
2009 – Blake Adams, Victoria Rose
2010 – Dillon Staples, Allison Hicks
2011 – Landry Woods
2012 – Cheyenne Chaney, Daniel Bertram
2013 – Carson Staples
2014 – Rachel Bertram, Davis McCracken, Reagan Roberts, Molly Dalton
2015 – Dalton Carter, Natalie Humble
2016 – Hunter Davis
2017 – Colton Morrow
2018 – Nicole Hesse
2019 – Emma Carter
2020 – Aaron Hesse

Rogers Explorers

2007 – Kelsey Cooper, Tim Dishman, Jackson Massengale,
2008 – Allison Hicks, Renee Bell, Dillon Staples
2009 – David W. Cole, Austin Kirksey, Landry Woods, Matthew Hutchinson
2010 – Daniel Bertram, Matthew Bertram, Katie McFarland, Kaitlin Roberts
2011 –  Carson Staples, Nicholas Kidd, Brett York, Caleb Rose, Kaitlyn Crabtree, Peyton Woods
2012 – Molly Dalton, Kylie Jones, Reagan Roberts, Dillan Penney. Rachel Bertram, Davis McCracken
2013 – Dalton Carter, Kelsay Marcum, Benjamin Rose, Natalie Humble, Caroline McCracken
2014 – Hunter Davis, Kyle Skeese
2015 – Abigail Marcum, Colton Morrow, Callie Phillips, Zachary Dishman, Natalie Hutchinson, Alex Piercy
2016 – Nicholas Shearer, Aubry Holt, Rachel Rains, Nicole Hesse
2017 – Emily Humble, Hayden Ballinger, Emma Carter, Ethan Huffaker, Andrew York
2018 – Molly Dishman, Kennedy Keith, Aaron Hesse, Mariah Bowlin, William Beckley, Shaylie Dobbs, John David Rains
2019 – Jacob Pollett, Kallie Powell, Alex Chmura
2020 – Brayleigh Butcher, Kelsay Collins, Jaedyn Crabtree, Madelyn Frogge, Aubree Kennett

Entrepreneurial Leadership Institute

2006 – Shannon Anderson, Jessica Leber, Kala Means
2008 – Blake Adams
2009 – Allison Hicks, Dillion Staples
2010 – Austin Kirksey, Landry Woods, Ameka Menes
2011 – Daniel Bertram, Matthew Bertram, Abigail Perkins
2012 – Carson Staples, Brett York, and Devin Morrow
2016 – Colton Morrow
2017 – Nicole Hesse
2019 – John David Rains
2020 – Aaron Hesse