Skip to main content


The application form for the next funding cycle of the 2013 Appalachian Rural Development Philanthropy Initiative (ARDPI) mini-grants has been posted online and is now available for prospective grant applicants.

Click here to download request for proposals, eligibility guidelines, and other grant application materials.

The Center for Rural Development and Brushy Fork Institute are accepting grant proposals from government and non-profit organizations in 43 Southern and Eastern Kentucky counties through April 22 for ARDPI mini-grants to help advance philanthropic work and charitable giving throughout the region.

Communities in these areas will be eligible to apply for up to $8,000 in federal grant funding through the Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC) for an ARDPI community foundation capacity building mini-grant project.

All ARDPI projects awarded funding during this funding cycle must be completed within six months, beginning June 1 through Nov. 30, 2013.

Awards will be announced at an ARDPI event on May 14 at The Center for Rural Development in Somerset.

ARDPI is a shared effort of the Kentucky Philanthropy Initiative, Endow Kentucky, the Blue Grass Community Foundation, the Foundation for Appalachian Kentucky, the Foundation for the Tri-State Community, The Center for Rural Development, and Brushy Fork Institute.

For more information on ARDPI mini-grant guidelines, contact Patti Simpson at The Center at 606-677-6000, or Jane Higgins at Brushy Fork Institute at 859-985-3436 or email

Efforts within the following counties are eligible for grant funding during the 2013 ARDPI mini-grant cycle: Adair, Bath, Bell, Breathitt, Carter, Casey, Clay, Clinton, Cumberland, Elliott, Estill, Fleming, Floyd, Green, Harlan, Hart, Jackson, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Lewis, Lincoln, Magoffin, Martin, McCreary, Menifee, Metcalfe, Monroe, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Powell, Robertson, Rockcastle, Rowan, Russell, Wayne, Whitley, and Wolfe.

Counties participating in ARDPI efforts must fit ARC’s classification as a “distressed” county.