Skip to main content


2012 Rogers Explorers Lindsey Wilson College

Careers in math, science, and technology are much in demand, and students across Southern and Eastern Kentucky will have a chance this summer to explore their skills in these leading career fields while spending time on a college campus.

The first two of four scheduled summer sessions of The Center for Rural Development’s 2012 Rogers Explorers youth leadership program kicks off this week on the campuses of Lindsey Wilson College in Columbia and the University of the Cumberlands in Williamsburg.

Thirty rising ninth-grade students from across the region will spend Sunday through Tuesday— the first half of the week— on the campus of Lindsey Wilson College. Another group of 30 Rogers Explorers is set to arrive on Wednesday at the University of the Cumberlands, where they will remain on campus through Friday.

In all, 120 students from 30 Kentucky counties have been selected to attend Rogers Explorers and will work over the summer months to develop their math, science, and technology skills in anticipation of building a career in these in-demand career fields.

Other sessions of the Rogers Explorers youth leadership program are planned for July 18-20 at Eastern Kentucky University in Richmond and July 22-24 on the newest host site at Morehead State University in Morehead.

“Rogers Explorers was formed in 2006 as a means to reach more young people within The Center’s 42-county primary service area, and to focus on leading students into in-demand careers in our region. The Center has partnered with four Kentucky colleges and universities to host our Explorer camps on their campuses to give these students hands-on experience in a college environment. By doing so, we help them see the value of higher education and prepare them for success.”
Lonnie Lawson, president and CEO of The Center for Rural Development

As Rogers Explorers, participants spend three days and two nights on a college campus. Many of these students have not been on a college campus before, and the program gives them and other participants an opportunity to experience life as college students.

College professors and experts in the field guide participants through hands-on assignments in math and science, allowing students to put to the test what they learned in the classroom, all of which encourage creative thinking and teamwork and build leadership skills.

“Rogers Explorers gives students a one-of-a-kind learning experience, as we open their eyes to the vast potential in the plentiful careers in math and science,” said Delaney Stephens, youth programs coordinator and community liaison for The Center. “They will also develop a lifelong network of friends, and will build essential skills that will help them become the region’s next generation of leaders.”

The Center is proud to announce the following students will be attending one of the four summer sessions of Rogers Explorers:

  • Bath County—Porsche Maness
  • Bell County—Katlyn Barnwell, Victoria Lowrance, and Aliyah Omar
  • Breathitt County—Marisa Boyd, Brady Salisbury, and Sheyanne Trent
  • Casey County—Lauren Wethington
  • Clay County—Nicholas Alevras, Evan Hensley, and Aaron Smith
  • Clinton County—Carrie McClellan and Carley Miller
  • Estill County—Mary Mansfield
  • Floyd County—Tate Greene, Tyra Nairn, and Jordan Pack
  • Green County—Addington “Addie” Eastham, Sierra Hall, and John Ingram
  • Harlan County—Kaitlin Jenkins
  • Jackson County—Caleb Combs and Cierra Crowe
  • Johnson County—Matthew Daniel, Brooke Griffith, Kirkland Fletcher, Parisa ShamaeiZadeh, and Grant Wheeler
  • Knox County—Andalyn Jae Brock, Sadie Harris, Brayden Imel, Clay Sprinkles, Reagan Warren, William Matthew Dixon, Kristen Pedersen, and Lauren Pedersen
  • Laurel County—Elijah Butler, Taylor Crockett, Jonah Deaton, Will House, Kelsy Matney, Jorden Jones, and Daniel Poston
  • Lee County—Kara Williams
  • Letcher County—Brady Caudill
  • Lincoln County—Craigory Coppola, Sammy Griffin, and Jonathon Kirk
  • McCreary County—Lyndsey Pennington and Kaitlyn Wilson
  • Metcalfe County—Rayanna Boston, Hayden Crain, Sarah Deckard, Noah “Gage” Edmunds, Brilyn Garrett, Kennedy Harbison, and Andrew Roach
  • Monroe County—Mason Allen, Ariel Emberton, Ashlin Trivett, and Avery Paige York
  • Morgan County—Graham Lewis and Chase Wagers
  • Perry County—Hannah Melton
  • Pulaski County—Makayela Banks, Cassidy Dalton, Riley Hall, Laura Hancock, Molly Smith, Sarah Dick, Samantha Dick, Lance Hall, Shannon Minton, Ashley Wahlman, Zachary Wesley, Kyle Back, Brynlee Bigelow, Andy Buteyn, Lillie Eastham, Aubrey Kelley, Jordan LaFavers, Lauren Maynard, Jensen Pierce, Brian Rutherford, John Wilson, Derek Burgett, Sarah Estep, John Lewis, Savannah Muse, Philip Golden, Audrey Moore, Anna Rogers, and Bailey Shackelford.
  • Rockcastle County—James Ballinger, Sara Clark, Alex Spragens, Bradley Taylor, and Julianna Singleton
  • Rowan County—Garrett Little and Emily Moore
  • Russell County—Clay Ackerman and Brooke Hachey
  • Taylor County—Korri Briggs, Jilly Bruns, Sarah Dickens, Danielle Dickens,  Avery Paige Dabney, Kathryn Doss, and MaKenzie Murrell
  • Wayne County—Molly Dalton, Kylie Jones, Davis McCracken, Reagan Roberts, Rachel Bertram, and Dillan Penney
  • Whitley County—Christopher Newquist
  • Wolfe County—January Moore, Dakota Parks, Vanessa Yeary, and Ally Spencer